begin a four-year course in normal school or enter a superior school where a two-year course leads to a school of fine arts, a commercial course or a nurse-training course.

At the end of the fifth year a boy may enter a classical college for an eight-year course ending with a baccalaureate degree which is prerequisite for entrance to a professional course in university. Or he may continue on to the end of the primary course and then spend two years in the complementary course. From this point he may enter a technical school or any one of four sections of the two-year superior course—commercial, scientific, agriculture, technical or pre-normal school. The latter leads to entrance to a normal school, the others lead to specialized schools and advanced courses in technical schools or, after another year of preparatory work, to the higher schools of applied science, commerce and agriculture affiliated with the universities.

The boy who neither enters the classical college nor goes on to the complementary course may go directly from the primary course to a trade school or one of the regional agriculture schools. These schools offer two-year terminal courses.

Section 2.—Education in the Territories*

The Northwest Territories.—The Department of Resources and Development is responsible for education in the Northwest Territories. The education of white, Indian, Eskimo and half-breed children is carried on at Territorial and Indian day schools, which are completely maintained by the Federal Government, and at residential and mission day schools operated by the Church of England, the Roman Catholic Church, and the Northern Canada Evangelical Mission. The Federal Government assists these latter schools by annual operational grants, by grants for the maintenance of native children and the children of destitute white and half-breed parents, and by furnishing school supplies and equipment.

Only one school in the Northwest Territories is maintained chiefly by local taxation and administered by a local school board, though it too, receives an annual grant from the Federal Government. It is the modern eight-classroom elementary and high school at Yellowknife which serves all the children of Yellowknife and the more advanced pupils residing at other settlements in the Territories. The schools of the Mackenzie District, which comprises the western portion of the Northwest Territories, are inspected periodically by a superintendent of education whose office is at Yellowknife.

Territorial day schools are located at Port Brabant, Aklavik, Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution, Coppermine, Port Radium, Fort Smith, Lake Harbour on Baffin Island, and Coral Harbour on Southampton Island. Indian day schools are located at Fort Norman, Fort McPherson, Arctic Red River, Fort Franklin, Fort Rae, Rocher River, Hay River, and Fort Good Hope. The Church of England operates a residential and a day school at Aklavik and the Roman Catholic Church operates residential schools at Aklavik, Fort Providence, and Fort Resolution. Day schools are also operated by the Federal Government at Fort Chimo and Port Harrison in the Province of Quebec. These schools are located in Eskimo territory on the Arctic coast of Quebec, in which region the Federal Government is responsible for the administration of Eskimo affairs.

^{*} Prepared under the direction of H. L. Keenleyside, Ph.D., Deputy Minister, Department of Resources and Development.